Chairs

Basic Science Chairs

The Keck School basic science chairs are instrumental in advancing the school’s research initiatives.

Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine
Peggy Farnham, PhD
(323) 442-8015
peggy.farnham@med.usc.edu

Cell and Neurobiology
Ruth Wood, PhD
(323) 442-1980
riw@usc.edu

Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Jae U. Jung, PhD
(323) 442-1713
jaeujung@usc.edu

Physiology and Biophysics
Berislav V. Zlokovic, MD, PhD
(323) 442-2144
zlokovic@usc.edu

Preventive Medicine
Jonathan Samet, MD
(323) 865-0419
jsamet@usc.edu

Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Andrew P. McMahon, PhD
(323) 442-3056
mcmahona@usc.edu

Translational Genomics
John D. Carpten, PhD
(323) 865‑1591
carpten@usc.edu

Clinical Department Chairs

The Keck School clinical department chairs play a crucial role in advancing the school and direct day-to-day operations within their specialty areas.

Anesthesiology
Philip Lumb, MD
(323) 226-4597
lumb@usc.edu

Dermatology
David H. Peng, MD, MPH
(323) 865-0983
dpeng@usc.edu

Emergency Medicine
Carl R. Chudnofsky, MD
(323) 226-6667
chudnofs@usc.edu

Family Medicine
Laura Mosqueda, MD
(323) 442-1313
lauraamo@usc.edu

Medicine
Edward Crandall, MD, PhD
(323) 226-7593
ecrandal@usc.edu

Neurological Surgery
Steven L. Giannotta, MD
(323) 226-7421
giannott@usc.edu

Neurology
Helena Chui, MD
(323) 442-7686
chui@usc.edu

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Laila I. Muderspach, MD
(323) 226-3416
muderspa@usc.edu

Ophthalmology
Rohit Varma, MD, MPH
(323) 442-6335
rvarma@usc.edu

Orthopaedic Surgery
Jay Lieberman, MD
(323) 226-7201
jrlieber@usc.edu

USC Tina and Rick Caruso Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Dennis Maceri, MD (Interim)
(323) 442-5790
maceri@usc.edu

Pathology
Michael Selsted, MD, PhD
(323) 442-1179
selsted@usc.edu

Pediatrics
D. Brent Polk, MD
(323) 361-8884
dbpolk@chla.usc.edu

Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences
Steven Siegel, MD, PhD
(323) 442-4000
siegels@usc.edu

Radiation Oncology
Eric L. Chang, MD
(323) 865-3072
eric.chang@med.usc.edu

Radiology
Ed Grant, MD
(323) 442-8538
edgrant@usc.edu

Surgery
Vaughn Starnes, MD
(323) 442-5480
starnes@usc.edu

Urology
Inderbir S. Gill, MD
(323) 865-3708
igill@usc.edu