Keck School Faculty

James Bradley Randleman, MD
James Bradley Randleman, MD
Professor of Ophthalmology (Clinical Scholar);Director of the Cornea, External Disease, and Refractive Surgery Service
HC4 4900 Health Sciences Campus Los Angeles
J. Bradley Randleman, MD received his BA degree from Columbia University in New York City, his M.D. degree from Texas Tech University School of Medicine in Lubbock, Texas, where he was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society in his junior year, followed by his Ophthalmology residency and Cornea and Refractive Surgery Fellowship at Emory University. Dr. Randleman is joining the USC Roski Eye Institute from the Emory Eye Center in Atlanta Georgia, where he was the John H. and Helen S. Hughes Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of the Cornea, External Disease, & Refractive Surgery Section.

A widely respected cornea specialist, his areas of expertise include: corneal and intraocular refractive surgical procedures including LASIK and premium laser-assisted cataract and IOL surgery, complicated cataract surgery, and the management of keratoconus and other corneal ectatic disorders. His primary research focuses on identification and management of corneal ectatic diseases including keratoconus and postoperative ectasia after LASIK, and the avoidance, diagnosis, and management of refractive surgical complications.

Dr. Randleman serves as Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Refractive Surgery, the premier peer-reviewed journal in this subspecialty, a position he has held since 2011. Prior to that Dr. Randleman was Associate Editor for the Journal of Refractive Surgery and Associate Editor for the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery in the review article section from 2008-2011.

Dr. Randleman has been awarded the Claus Dohlman Fellow Award, the inaugural Binkhorst Young Ophthalmologist Award from the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery, the Kritzinger Memorial Award and the Inaugural ISRS Recognition Award, and the Secretariat Award, Achievement Award, and Senior Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He has authored more than 120 peer-reviewed publications in leading ophthalmology journals in addition to 30 book chapters on refractive surgery evaluation, corneal cross-linking, and management of complications with IOLs, and has authored three textbooks, Collagen Cross-Linking (2013), which he co-edited on Farhad Hafezi, MD, PhD, Refractive Surgery: An Interactive Case-Based Approach (2014), and Intraocular Lens Surgery: Selection, Complications, and Complex Cases.

Dr. Randleman’s primary research focus is on the measurement and management of corneal biomechanics. He has developed screening algorithms for refractive surgery patient screening and served as a principle investigator for multiple FDA clinical trials for corneal cross-linking, a novel treatment for keratoconus and other corneal ectatic disorders that can halt and partially reverse the ectatic process. Dr. Randleman is also researching clinical outcomes for the surgical management of astigmatism and the use of the femtosecond laser for cataract surgery.

New England Ophthalmological Society Meeting: Guest of Honor, 2016

Ocular Surgery News: Premiere Surgeon 300- leading innovator in premium refractive surgery, 2016

University of Texas, Houston- Department of Ophthalmology: Drouilhet Visiting Professor, 2015

International Society of Refractive Surgery: Recognition Award (inaugural ), 2015

Emory University: John H. and Helen S. Hughes Professorship in Ophthalmology, 2015

SUNY Downstate Ophthalmology Department: Visiting Professor, 2014

American Academy of Ophthalmology: Senior Achievement Award, 2014

Wills Eye Hospital : Visiting Professor, 2013

: US News & World Reports Top Ophthalmologists, 2012

Castle Connolly, Ltd.: America's Top Ophthalmologists, 2011-pres

International Society of Refractive Surgery: Kritzinger Memorial Award, 2011

Becker's ASC Review: Leading Ophthalmologists in America, 2011

American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery: Blinkhorst Young Ophthalmologist Award, 2010

American Academy of Ophthalmology: Achievement Award, 2008

American Academy of Ophthalmology: Secretariat Award, 2007

Claes Dohlman Fellow Society: Outstanding Corneal Fellow in Nation, 2004

Emory University School of Medicine: Chief Resident, Ophthalmology, 2001-2002

Emory University: Outstanding Teaching Resident Award, 2001

Texas Tech School of Medicine: Junior Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society, 1998

Powered by SC CTSI
Go to Top