Back to Index
Charalampos Zalavras, MD
Professor of Clinical Orthopaedic Surgery
Orthopaedic Surgery
GNH 3900 1200 N. State Street Off Campus Los Angeles
+1 323 226 8010


Dr. Charalampos Zalavras is a specialist in the field of orthopaedic trauma at the Los Angeles County & University of Southern California Medical Center. Dr. Zalavras joined the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Keck School of Medicine of USC as faculty in 2001 and is currently Professor of Clinical Orthopaedics and Director of Orthopaedic Resident Research. He has a particular interest in trauma and reconstruction of the upper extremity and in musculoskeletal infection. Dr. Zalavras has published approximately 90 peer-reviewed manuscripts and 20 book chapters focusing in the topics of trauma and infection and his work has been extensively cited with approximately 3,000 citations. Dr. Zalavras has been invited to deliver more than 80 scientific lectures in conferences in the US and all over the world. Dr. Zalavras has received numerous distinguished awards. He was the recipient of the Marshall R. Urist Young Investigator Award by the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons and the Scholar Award by the Musculoskeletal Infection Society and the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons. His research work resulted in Award for Best Resident/Fellow Paper in the Annual Meeting of the Arthroscopy Association of North America and in nomination for the Charles S. Neer II Award by the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons. He was recipient of a Traveling Fellowship Award by the Japanese Orthopaedic Association in 2013. Dr. Zalavras currently serves in the Editorial Board of Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research (Deputy Editor for Infection) and Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma (Section Editor for Infection). Dr. Zalavras has served as president of the Musculoskeletal Infection Society and as member of its executive board. He is member of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery, the American College of Surgeons, and the European Bone and Joint Infection Society.

Powered bySC CTSI