2018 Massry Prize Laureates


Gregg L. Semenza, MD, PhD
C. Michael Armstrong Professor of Genetic Medicine, Pediatrics, Medicine, Oncology, Radiation Oncology, and Biological Chemistry
John Hopkins University School of Medicine
Director, Vascular Program
John Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering

“Hypoxia-Inducible Factors in Physiology and Medicine”


Professor Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, FMedSci FRS
Director, Target Discovery Institute
University of Oxford
Director of Clinical Research
The Francis Crick Institute
Member, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research

“Elucidation of Cellular Oxygen Sensing Pathways—Implications for Medicine”


William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD
Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine Department of Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School Investigator
Howard Hughes Medical Institute

“von Hippel—Lindau Disease: Insights into Oxygen Sensing and Cancer”