Awards & Recognitions 2017-04-14T11:32:27+00:00

Awards & Recognitions


Our faculty members provide international leadership in orthopaedics and are lauded as innovators in the field.

Notable Achievements

  • The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery has been recognized as a Blue Distinction Center by Blue Cross Blue Shield for expertise in delivering specialty care and our continual commitment to quality and improved outcomes for patients.
  • Our faculty members include numerous “Top Doctors” (Castle Connolly), “Best Orthopaedic Surgeons” (The Hollywood Reporter) and “Super Doctors” (Los Angeles Magazine).
  • Among the many honors our faculty has received, in 2012, Jay R. Lieberman, MD, chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, received the prestigious Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award for his pioneering work related to the development of regional gene therapy to enhance bone repair.
  • Lawrence D. Dorr, MD, professor of orthopaedic surgery, received an extraordinary honor when the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons named an award for him: The Lawrence D. Dorr Surgical Techniques & Technologies Award is intended to instill continuing interest in surgical innovation and new techniques among orthopaedic clinician-scientists, and is awarded each year during the association’s annual meeting.