From left, Rohit Varma, Philip Lumb, Holly Muir and Tom Jackiewicz are seen before a reception to welcome Muir as chair of the Department of Anesthesiology, and pay tribute to Lumb for his previous service as chair.

Faculty and staff from the Keck School of Medicine of USC gathered recently to welcome and pay tribute to the current and previous chairs of the Department of Anesthesiology.

Holly Muir, MD, has been serving as chair since Jan. 1, succeeding Philip Lumb, MB, BS, MCCM, professor of anesthesiology, who served as chair of the department since 2001.

The reception included remarks from Rohit Varma, MD, MPH, dean of the Keck School and director of the USC Gayle and Edward Roski Eye Institute; Tom Jackiewicz, MPH, senior vice president and CEO of Keck Medicine of USC; and various other faculty members, including Helena Chui, MD, chair and professor of neurology and the Raymond and Betty McCarron Chair in Neurology.