Awards & Recognitions


Notable Achievements

Faculty members from the Department of Surgery have received numerous awards and recognitions, including:

  • The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Leonard Tow Humanism Award, 2015
  • Audrey E. Streedain Regenerative Medicine Initiative Award, 2015
  • US Navy National Ensign Operation Enduring Freedom Award
  • Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Surgical Oncology
  • Editor-in-Chief, Current Opinion in Organ Transplantation
  • President, Midwest Surgical Association
  • President, Society for Clinical Vascular Surgery, 2014
  • President, Pacific Coast Surgical Association, 2014
  • Keynote Speaker, China, Taiwan and Hong Kong Critical Care Society, Shenzen, China, Nov. 2014
  • New England Biolabs “Passion in Science” Award, Oct. 2014
  • Robert Zeppa lectureship, University of Miami: Florida, Sept. 2014
  • D. Charalambides lectureship, Cyprus Trauma Conference, June 2014
  • Jacobi lectureship 16th Annual Trauma/Emergency Medicine Symposium, May 2014
  • The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, Keck School of Medicine of USC, 2014