Massry Prize 2018

Date(s) - September 20, 2018
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

USC Keck School of Medicine; Louis B. Mayer Auditorium (KAM building)
1975 Zonal Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Sponsor: The Office of the Dean, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Recipients: Gregg L. Semenza, MD, PhD, Professor Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, FMedSci
FRS, William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD
Download the flyer: Flyer_2018 Massry Prize
Live webcast: The event will be available via webcast on September 20.
The 2018 Massry Prize is being awarded to a trio of scientists for their seminal work in discovering the primary
mechanisms for oxygen sensing that are crucial for life on earth, including the identification of hypoxia-inducible factors which regulate oxygen homeostasis in health and disease.

Gregg L. Semenza

Gregg L. Semenza, MD, PhD

C. Michael Armstrong Professor of
Genetic Medicine, Pediatrics, Medicine, Oncology, Radiation Oncology, and Biological Chemistry
John Hopkins University School of Medicine Director, Vascular Program
John Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering

“Hypoxia-Inducible Factors in Physiology and Medicine”

Peter J. Ratcliffe

Professor Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, FMedSci FRS

Director, Target Discovery Institute
University of Oxford
Director of Clinical Research
The Francis Crick Institute

“Elucidation of Cellular Oxygen Sensing Pathways—Implications for Medicine”

William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD

Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and
Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Howard Hughes Medical Institute

“von Hippel—Lindau Disease: Insights into
Oxygen Sensing and Cancer”

Refreshments will be served from 11:30am-12:30pm
Learn more about the Massry Prize.

Image of Keck School of Medicine of USC sign on building