Annie Nguyen, MD

Assistant Professor Of Clinical Ophthalmology

Associate Program Director, Residency Program

Director of Ophthalmic Surgical Operations

Image of Annie Nguyen, MD
Is this your profile? Click to edit


Annie Nguyen, MD, a native Southern Californian, graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University Honors Program at California State University Fullerton. Opportunities presented themselves on the East Coast where she broadened her horizons as she seized opportunities to obtain her medical degree from Harvard University and ophthalmology residency training at New York Eye and Ear Infirmary. She returned home to California to complete fellowship training in cornea, external disease, and refractive surgery at USC Roski Eye Institute.

The foundation for her approach to health care has been firmly laid to rely upon effective communication, endless quest for knowledge, constant skill refinement, and unwavering patient advocacy as she strives to provide exceptional patient care, contribute to the education of medical students, residents, and fellows, and further knowledge through clinical research.

Outside of work, Dr. Nguyen enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, cooking and baking, playing sports, arts and crafts, and playing with her dog.


  • ARVO: ARVO Travel Grant, 2017
  • Veteran Affairs: Summer Research Grant, 2012
  • CSU Fullerton: Miles D. McCarthy Health Professions Award, 2010
  • American Chemical Society: Outstanding Chemistry Student Award, 2010
  • CSU Fullerton: Summa Cum Laude, 2010
  • CSU Fullerton: Alumni Scholarship, 2009
  • Howell Foundation: Doris A. Howell Research Scholar Award, 2009
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute: Exceptional Research Opportunities Program Grant, 2009
  • CSU Fullerton: James A. Diefenderfer Scholarship, 2008
  • National Science Foundation: Research Experiences for Undergraduates Grant, 2008
  • Phi Kappa Phi: Phi Kappa Phi Honor Scholar, 2007
  • Golden Key International Honor Society: Golden Key International Honor Society Scholar, 2006
  • National Society of Collegiate Scholars: National Society of Collegiate Scholar, 2006