Press Release

Anesthesiology’s Brian Bensadigh earns Patient Safety Curriculum Award

July 22, 2020

Brian Bensadigh, MD, MBA, clinical assistant professor of anesthesiology (clinician educator), has been awarded the 2020 Patient Safety Curriculum Award.

The $100,000 award was announced by the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) and the Patient Safety Movement Foundation (PSMF). Bensadigh’s proposal, “Perioperative Patient Safety Curriculum for Anesthesia Trainees,” was selected from the field of applications.

The award goes to an anesthesia education investigator for the purpose of modifying the PSMF’s Actionable Patient Safety Solutions (APSS) #17: Patient Safety Curriculum to specifically address perioperative patient safety. “Dr. Bensadigh’s proposal provides us with a wonderful opportunity to modify the PSMF’s outstanding general Patient Safety Curriculum for use in perioperative settings,” said Mark Warner, MD, president of the APSF.

Bensadigh’s co-investigator and mentor for the grant is Carol Peden, MD, MB ChB, professor of anesthesiology and Executive Director of the Center for Health System Innovation at USC.

Read the full release